Skip to content

The Joint Committee of the Natural Science Research Councils in the Nordic Countries (NOS‐N) is a co‐operative body within the natural sciences with representation from research councils in Finland, Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Iceland, and from NordForsk.

NOS‐N was established by the (former) organisations Statens Naturvidenskabelige Forskningsråd in Denmark, Natur‐vetenskapliga forskningsrådet in Sweden; the Valtion luonnontieteellinen toimikunta in Finland, and Rådet for Naturvitenskapelig Forskning in Norway in 1967. Iceland became a member of NOS‐N in 1987.

The objective of NOS‐N is to promote natural science research and research based on the natural sciences in the Nordic countries by cooperation and coordination based on continuous and mutual exchange of information.